Search the Forum * View unanswered posts * View unread posts * View new posts * View active topics * Visit the Club Shop * See Club Members Deals

Center 3" nut while trying to change rear tire

New Member? just post a little intro here and say hello!

Center 3" nut while trying to change rear tire

PostPosted by saudirav4 » Sun Jul 16, 2017 1:57 am

Hey all -

Newbie here. Bought a 1994 RAV4 4x4 after moving here to the Philippines. Workable vehicle and with my broken back needed something right away. Had I had more time, I would've looked around more. This is a good running vehicle but now I have a problem. Might be a 'I'm in the Philippines' problem as they seem to have limited or no supplies of everything as I'm used to in the USA. No complaints about the Philippines but big complaints about supply chain issues.

OK, the RAV4 appears to be a SAUDI model as the owners manual is in Saudi language AND English. The mirrors have Saudi characters on them and, well, it does appear to be a Saudi RAV4.

My issue: After removing the 5 lugs on the pax rear tire, I attempted to pull the wheel off to no avail. The problem is a pesky 3" axle nut holding the center of the wheel in place (in addition to the lugs). I do not have nor did the vehicle come with one. Where on earth can I get one? It would need to have a suitable drive (1/2" or 3/4" )socket type and MUST be a thinwall and at least 3" deep socket or it won't fit in the hub of the wheel. With this item I can break the center nut free and change a simple tire.

Sigh, complications are OK but inability to get the right tools are not. Can anyone help or offer alternative advice.

Your help is highly appreciated.

Mubahay from Palawan, Philippines

SaudiRAv4 owner
saudirav4
Just Registered
Just Registered

Re: Center 3" nut while trying to change rear tire

PostPosted by Davrav » Sun Jul 16, 2017 6:46 am

Hi Saudirav and :welcome to the club.